top of page


The Rural Health Association of Oklahoma presents awards annually in a number of categories. This year, there were will be five categories of awards. The awards this year will be presented at an Awards Reception on November 1, 2023 from 6pm to 8pm the evening before the conference sessions begin. The Awards Reception will be held in Ballroom 1 & 2 of the Edmond Conference Center in Edmond, Oklahoma (the same venue as the Oklahoma Rural Health Conference). 

Rural Health Advocate of the Year

This recipient should be a tireless advocate for rural health issues.  The nominee has repeatedly demonstrated his/her commitment to rural health through grassroots efforts or policy changes.  The Rural Health Advocate of the Year inspires others to understand the significance rural health care plays for Oklahomans across the state by engaging (other) elected officials in discussions and promoting policies that support rural health care.

Rural Health Leader of the Year

This recipient should be an outstanding rural health leader who uses a comprehensive or unique approach to address a specific rural health issue; demonstrates an ability to guide others through complicated rural health issues to achieve a set goal, and/or creates a network or partnership with others to create programs or initiatives that benefit rural Oklahomans.

Rural Health Educator of the Year

This recipient has a proven record of educating rural health care students, current workforce, or community members, or who has developed a successful and unique education program for rural Oklahomans. 

Rural Health Hero of the Year

This award category recognizes the tireless efforts made by a healthcare professional during the COVID-19 pandemic and beyond. The nominee is a healthcare worker of any level in a rural setting who exceeds the job expectations in an effort to care for the population served.

Rural Health Practitioner of the Year

This recipient is a physician/practitioner who goes above and beyond for patients. The nominee serves a rural community and understands the unique complexities of the environment, working tirelessly to address the needs of the patients and communities served. 

Rural Health Lifetime Achievement Award

This recipient has dedicated his/her life and career to rural health in Oklahoma. 

Telehealth Hero of the Year Award

This award is given by the Telehealth Alliance of Oklahoma. The recipient is an advocate for or has greatly advanced telehealth services in Oklahoma.

Nominations for 2023 are closed.  

The nomination deadline is Friday, September 15th at 5pm. 

bottom of page