2016 Awards Nomination

Download the form above to nominate an Oklahoman for the 2016 Oklahoma Rural Health Awards.  Email completed forms to  The awards will be presented at the Awards Luncheon to be held on May 26th in conjunction with the Oklahoma Rural Health Conference on May 25-26 at the Embassy Suites Hotel and Conference Center in Norman, OK.  The deadline for nominations is 5pm Friday, April 29, 2016.


2012 Conference

2012 Joint Fall Rural and Underserved Conference Presentations

Don Weaver, MD:  “Getting Better Together”

Richard Carter, MD:  “Collaboration:  The Key to Countering the Efflux of Rural Health Services”

Mark Hopkins, MSKM, AHIP:  “Going Mobile:  Enhancing 24/7 Health Informaiton Access”

Jack R. Friedman, PhD, and Lori L. Jervis, PhD:  “From the Front Lines:  Rual Primary Care and Behavioral Health”

David Kendrick, MD, MPH:  “Meaningful Use”  (Coming Soon!)

Todd Michael Patnode and Louis Robichaux:  “How to Save a Dying Hospital”

Ed Long and Abigail Pinkele:  “Effective Outreach in the Health Care Reform Environment”  Long Presentation    Pinkele Presentation

Kathryn Weldon:  “Creating Winning Cultures”

Jonathan Kolarik, RN, MBA:  “Privacy/Security and HIPAA Readiness”

Anthony Lee, MPH:  “Oklahoma Health Alert Network”

Bill Pettit, DO, MA; Duane Koehler, DO, FACOP, and Denna Wheeler, PhD:  “Pulling it Together for Primary Health Care in Rural and Underserved Areas”

Kurt Mosley:  “Health Reform and the Decline of Physician Private Practice”

Gerard Clancy, MD:  “Accountable Care Organizations in Rural Oklahoma”

Treasurer Ken Miller, PhD:  “Oklahoma Economic Update”

Katy Smith, MS:  “Integrating Primary Care Practices and Community-Based Programs to Manage Obesity”


2011 Conference

Presentations of the 2011 Conference:

Paul Moore –  “Dollars & Sense in Rural Health”

Brock Slabach – “NHRA 18,000+ voices working as one Strong Voice”

Joe Gallegos – “Community Health Centers; Yesterday and Today”

Marisa New & Tina Johnson – “Health Beyond the Healthcare System” ; Turning Point Map;County Health Department map; OK demographics

Mike Bowers – “Survival Strategies for the Rural Hospitals”

Becky Peal-Sconce – “Medicare Update”

“Affordable Care Act Insurance Clauses and Rural Oklahoma”

Tanya Case – “OK Temporary High Risk Pool”

Beverly Tyler – “Sustaining Rural Health Programs”

Cheryl St. Clair & Corie Kaiser – “Community Assessment & Engagment”; slides from National Rural Health Works


2010 Conference

Becky Peal Sconce

Cinician Recruitment – RHAO, OK

Deanna Wheeler

Dr. Clancy

Dr. Golder

Dr. Mold

George Hendley

Jason Friesen

Jone Friesen

Judy Grant

Kim Holland

Grassroots September 2010

Mark Jones


About Us

The Rural Health Association of Oklahoma’s mission is: “Serving as a united voice for Oklahomans in the promotion of rural health issues, through advocacy, education and leadership.”

Board of Directors:

Jeff Hackler, RHAO President

Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences

Shelly Dunham

Okeene Municipal Hospital

LaWanna Halstead

Oklahoma Hospital Association

Richard Evans

Physician Manpower Training Commission

Corie Kaiser, RHAO Vice-President

OSU Center for Rural Health, Oklahoma Office of Rural Health

Valorie Owens

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Becky Pasternik-Ikard

Oklahoma Health Care Authority

Val Schott

Rural Hospital Group, LLC

Tim Starkey

Great Salt Plains Health  Clinic

Brian Woodliff, Treasurer

Northeastern Health System





Confernce Logo 2016

Oklahoma Rural Health Conference Agenda

Agenda final

Conference Presentations

Slabach-Okla Rural Health Conference May 2016

Felts–MACRA Regulations

McCormick-Culture That Empowers TeleChange

Wagner–Making Your Clinic Operations Work

Paiva-Discharge Planning and Innovative

Weinberg-Leonardi-Saavedra– Medicaid Managed Care Lessons Learned from NM

Wiley-HIPAA Compliance Security in the HC Environment-Rural Health Conference 5.19

O’Brien-Thompson–Care Coordination

Commissioner White-Behavioral Health Services

Hill-Choctaw Teaching Health Center

Enright–Going DEEP into Rural Oklahoma

O’Leary–Telehealth Adoption-Peeling the Policy Onion





Healthcare Pathways

National AHEC Organization

National Health Service Corp

National Rural Health Association

Nursing Schools in Oklahoma

Office of Primary Care – Oklahoma State Department of Health

Oklahoma Foundation for Medical Quality

Oklahoma Primary Care Association

OSU Center for Rural Health

Physician Manpower Training Commission

Rural Health Information Hub (previously Rural Assistance Center)

Students Working Against Tobacco

Shape Your Future

Tobacco Stops With Me

Tulsa Community College Health IT Workforce



Contact Us

Allison Seigars, MS, Managing Director
Rural Health Association of Oklahoma
2929 E. Randolph, Room 130
Enid, Ok 73701
ph 580-213-3177
fax 580-213-3167